Skip to main content

Research

Local Info & History Resources

ancestry logoAncestry is the world's largest website for researching family histories.
(Only available on-site at the library.)

 

heritage quest logoHeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources--rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.  Available in the library.  Accessibility outside the library requires a library card.

 

historic nc digital newspapers logoHistoric NC Digital Newspapers hosts 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers from Newspapers.com.

 

digital nc logoThe North Carolina Digital Heritage Center supports community engagement and lifelong learning by promoting and increasing access to North Carolina’s cultural heritage.

 

historic harnett photosThere are two Harnett County historic photo collections housed online: the Talbott McNeill Stewart Collection and the Luci Uzzle Harnett County Bicentennial Collection.

 

local news archive logoThe Local New Archive contains archives from Harnett County newspapers published between 1858-1978, cemetery records from Harnett, Cumberland, Mecklenburg, and Richmond counties. It also contains the Harnett County Public Library Bookbag.

 

The Local Genealogy Research Guide contains research that has been digitized by Harnett County genealogy enthusiasts. Documents include Family Histories and Publications about local people and places.

Additional virtual resources for local history and genealogy research can be found on our Electronic Resources page.

Local History Room

The Local History Room is now located within the computer lab and is open during regular library hours. Archival materials are available to view by appointment.

Unique materials in the local history collection include a vertical file, obituary file, and picture file (from the collections of the late Talbott McNeill Stewart and Luci Uzzle) which are viewable on the library's online catalog. The library also has a small collection of old and new maps, some local schools' yearbooks, and a variety of photographs and documents from the late 1800's to mid 1900's that are in the process of being archived. The library also has a folder for each senior class of Lillington High School from 1944-1977.

The local history collection also includes the N.C. Folklore Society Journal, the N.C. Historical Review, and other literary and scholarly publications from UNC Chapel Hill and Duke. In addition, the library owns a collection of primary source materials covering North Carolina History from the earliest days of the colony to the War Between the States.

 

Local Cemetery Information