Skip to Main Content
  Harnett County Public Libraries will close at 5:30 on Wednesday, November 23, and will be closed all day Thursday, November 24 and Friday, November 25 for the Thanksgiving Holiday. Outside book drops will be available for returns while the libraries are closed.

Books & More

Ebooks & More

The library offers a variety of resources for recreational reading and videos. Visit our Electronic Resources page for a comprehensive list of electronic resources for home, school, work and research.
e-inc from Overdrive
e-iNC Overdrive Collection

A collection of over 25,000 books and audiobooks for kids, teens and adults. Available on mobile with the Libby app.
nc kids digital library from overdrive
NC Kids Overdrive Collection

A collection of over 16,000 ebooks and audiobooks for kids. Available on mobile with the Libby app.

NC Live Hoopla

Checkout your favorite ebooks and audiobooks.
homegrown ebooks
Home Grown eBooks

A collection of fiction and nonfiction by North Carolina authors.

NC Kids Read-A-Longs

500+ picture books and beginner reader books that include read and listen narration.
films on demand
Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social science.

Just For Kids Streaming Collection

Provides children a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy.
new york times serials
The New York Times

Current full-text articles from the New York Times.
proquest central
ProQuest Central

Largest database of magazines, newspapers and journals.
wall street journal serials
Wall Street Journal

Current full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal.
e-inc library magazines from overdrive
e-iNC Overdrive Magazines

Checkout current issues of popular magazines.

The Daily Record on NewsBank

Access current full-text articles from The Daily Record (Dunn, NC) through NewsBank.

The Fayetteville Observer on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of The Fayetteville Observer (Fayetteville, NC) through NewsBank.

The News & Observer on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of The News & Observer (Raleigh, NC) through NewsBank.

USA Today on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of USA Today through NewsBank.

America's News on NewsBank

News and information from reliable news sources spanning the U.S.

Ancestry Library Edition

The world's largest online history resource. (Available inside the library only.)

Heritage Quest

Treasury of genealogical sources: primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

Transparent Language Online

An online language-learning platform with over 110 language courses.
nc live
NC Live

Allows access to digital content such as ebooks, ejournals, video and more.

NoveList

The premier online database for reading recommendations.

LearningExpress Library Complete

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students and adult learners. Includes GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS and more.

Data Axle Reference Solutions

Formerly ReferenceUSA. Provides information on millions of businesses and consumers in the US.

Historic NC Digital Newspapers

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from NC newspapers.

Black Life in America on NewsBank

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

Hispanic Life in America on NewsBank

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

Heritage Hub on NewsBank

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices, 1704 – today.
e-inc library from Overdrive
e-iNC Overdrive Collection

A collection of over 25,000 books and audiobooks for kids, teens and adults. Available on mobile with the Libby app.
nc kids digital library from overdrive
NC Kids Overdrive Collection

A collection of over 16,000 ebooks and audiobooks for kids. Available on mobile with the Libby app.

NC Live Hoopla

Checkout your favorite ebooks and audiobooks.
home grown ebooks
Home Grown eBooks

A collection of fiction and nonfiction by North Carolina authors.
   

NC Kids Read-A-Longs

500+ picture books and beginner reader books that include read and listen narration.
   
films on demand
Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social science.

Just For Kids Streaming Collection

Provides children a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy.
 
new york times serials
New York Times

Full articles from the New York Times.
proquest central
ProQuest Central

Largest database of magazines, newspapers and journals.
wall street journal serials
Wall Street Journal

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal.
e-inc library magazines from overdrive
e-iNC Overdrive Magazines

Checkout current issues of popular magazines.

The Daily Record on NewsBank

Access current full-text articles from The Daily Record (Dunn, NC) through NewsBank.

The Fayetteville Observer on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of The Fayetteville Observer (Fayetteville, NC) through NewsBank.

The News & Observer on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of The News & Observer (Raleigh, NC) through NewsBank.

USA Today on NewsBank

Access current full-color editions of USA Today through NewsBank.

America's News on NewsBank

News and information from reliable news sources spanning the U.S.

Ancestry Library Edition

The world's largest online history resource. (Available inside the library only.)

Heritage Quest

Treasury of genealogical sources: primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

Transparent Language Online

An online language-learning platform with over 110 language courses.
nc live
NC Live

Allows access to digital content such as ebooks, ejournals, video and more.

NoveList

The premier online database for reading recommendations.

LearningExpress Library Complete

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students and adult learners. Includes GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS and more.

Data Axle Reference Solutions

Formerly ReferenceUSA. Provides information on millions of businesses and consumers in the US.

Historic NC Digital Newspapers

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from NC newspapers.

Black Life in America on NewsBank

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

Hispanic Life in America on NewsBank

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

Heritage Hub on NewsBank

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research, 1704 – today.