Skip to main content

About

To help prevent the future spread of COVID-19, the Harnett County Public Library is closed to the public until further notice, including book returns. There will be no late fees or penalties for keeping items until the library opens. Visit Harnett County’s COVID-19 webpage for the latest information from the NC DHHS and the CDC.

We know that this is a difficult time for our community. While we are closed to the public, we want to continue providing content that enriches the lives of our patrons. Please continue checking this page for updates about our services.

Have no fear, we're still here!

Although our building is closed for public access, librarians are still available by phone at (910) 893-3446 between 9:00am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday. You can also reach out to us through our Facebook page.

Online Library Card Registration

If you are not currently registered for a library card and would like to use library resources while we are closed, you can now sign up remotely using our Online Library Card Registration form. 

  1. 1. Go to https://harnett.nccardinal.org/eg/opac/register
  2. 2. Choose your home library from the dropdown list provided. We are only able to register patrons for libraries in Harnett county. 
  3. 3. Fill out the rest of the form, including your name, full mailing address, date of birth (YYYY-MM-DD), phone number, and email address. You do NOT need to fill out the "Requested Username" field.
  4. 4. Click "Submit Registration" to send your information.
  5. 5. Your library will call or email you to provide your library card number and PIN. Contact your home library if you haven't received your information within a couple of days. 
  6. 6. You may pickup your physical library card when we are reopened to the public. Please bring your photo ID and proof of address to pickup your card.  

Curbside Pickup

We are happy to announce that library patrons can request items from our catalog by either placing holds online, or calling the library at (910) 893-3446 and requesting a curbside pickup. This service is only available Monday-Friday from 9:00-4:00 while we are closed to the public. You must request items online or call to request curbside pickup. Items will not be released without an appointment.

To place a request online:

  1. 1. Visit www.harnett.nccardinal.org and click the "My Account" button. Enter your library card number and PIN to login (call the library at (910) 893-3446 if you do not know your PIN).
  2. 2. Use the catalog search features to browse for items. Click on the "Place Hold" link next to the item.
  3. 3. Fill out the notification form. Be sure to include your phone number.
  4. 4. When your items are available the library will call you to schedule a pickup time. Pickups can be scheduled Monday-Friday 9:00-4:00.
  5. 5. Arrive at the library at your requested pickup time and retrieve your items from the designated curbside pickup table outside of the library. You can return items when the library reopens to the public. Keep in mind that we are not charging fines for overdue items while we are closed.

To place a request by phone:

  1. 1. Call the library at (910) 893-3446 and request curbside pickup.
  2. 2. Tell the librarian what items you would like to put on hold. We ask that you limit your selection to 10 items.
  3. 3. Tell the librarian when your would like to pickup your items. Pickups can be scheduled Monday-Friday 9:00-4:00.
  4. 4. Arrive at the library at your requested pickup time and retrieve your items from the designated curbside pickup table outside of the library. You can return items when the library reopens to the public. Keep in mind that we are not charging fines for overdue items while we are closed.

Electronic Resources

The library has an extensive collection of electronic resources that are available to patrons at home, including ebooks, audiobooks, animated storybooks, magazines, video, study resources and more.

Patrons with a library card can login to resources using their library card number and PIN number (by default the last 4-digits of their phone number). Harnett County School students can login to resources by using their student ID number in the "Library Barcode Number" field, and the last 4-digits of their student ID in the "PIN number" field. Give us a call at (910) 893-3446 if you need assistance with accessing resources.

A few of our favorite electronic resources:

Additional Resources

Educational and e-Learning Resources

Our librarians have compiled a Google Doc with a list of child-appropriate resources for virtual learning. Feel free to download, print and share!

New TumbleBooks Databases

One of our favorite animated picturebook providers, TumbleBooks, has generously offered our patrons free access to their full electronic resource collection until August 31, 2020. Click the links below to access these free databases for children, teens and adults.

Login credentials:
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3bfc6

Use Ancestry Library Edition From Home

We are excited to announce that Ancestry Library Edition, a massive collection of digital genealogy records that is usually only available on-site at the library, is now available to registered library users from home!

To access Ancestry Library Edition:
1. Go to https://bit.ly/2xLkvLh
2. Enter your full library card number and PIN number (by default your PIN is the last 4-digits of your phone number). Harnett County School students can enter their Student ID number in the barcode field, and the last 4-digits of their Student ID in the PIN field. Click "Go."
3. Wait for the page to reroute to Ancestry Library Edition, and click "Begin Searching" to get started!

Ancestry Library Edition gives you access to thousands of historical records, including:
- Census Records
- Birth, Marriage and Death Records
- Immigration Records
- Military Records
- City Directories
and more!

Free World Book Online Access in April

World Book Online is offering FREE unlimited access to their virtual resources during the whole month of April!

Your access to World Book Online provides you with a suite of resources designed to support all unique learners and their learning needs. Readable and engaging nonfiction informational text, multimedia, primary sources, maps, compare and contrast tools, and many more features will aid in your classroom instruction and build confidence in your student learning capabilities.

Access World Book Online at www.worldbookonline.com

Login credentials:
Username: wbsupport
Password: distancelearn

NCLearn@Home

NCLearn@Home (www.ncdcr.gov/things-do/nclearnhome) is a new website designed to gather online content and educational resources into one place for teachers, students, parents, and anyone needing enriching experiences, regardless of their location.

Here you’ll find lesson plans, educator resources, State Library and State Archives collections, and virtual assistance from state librarians and educators, as well as offerings from our state’s natural and cultural institutions.

Virtually visit the North Carolina Zoo, aquariums, a state park or state historic site through an NC360 tour.

Listen to podcasts on history, art and nature; watch concert videos from some amazing North Carolina artists; watch educational and fun Livestream presentations; virtually tour museum exhibits; or watch past concerts from the North Carolina Symphony.

From the art museum to the zoo, each part of our department has fun, educational and amazing online content to share.

“Now more than ever, during this time of uncertainty, and when we have to be more physically separated from one another, it’s important that we are able to connect with art, culture, history and nature in a tangible and meaningful way,” said Susi Hamilton, secretary of the N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. “Until we’re able to welcome visitors back to our museums, historic sites, zoo, aquariums and other North Carolina cultural institutions, we hope that these resources will help keep North Carolinians informed, engaged and entertained.”

Find DNCR’s online resources at www.ncdcr.gov/things-do/nclearnhome or via social media with #NCLearnAtHome.