Skip to main content
site header image

Harnett County Public Library: Local Info and History

Local History Room

The Harnett County Public Library's Local History Room provides basic research materials to historians and genealogists with an emphasis on Harnett County and the Cape Fear Valley.

Unique materials in the local history collection include a vertical file, obituary file, and picture file (from the collections of the late Talbott McNeill Stewart and Luci Uzzle) which are viewable on the library's online catalog. The library also has a small collection of old and new maps, some local schools' yearbooks, and a variety of photographs and documents from the late 1800's to mid 1900's that are in the process of being archived. The library also has a folder for each senior class of Lillington High School from 1944-1977.

The local history collection also includes the N.C. Folklore Society Journal, the N.C. Historical Review, and other literary and scholarly publications from UNC Chapel Hill and Duke. In addition, the library owns a collection of primary source materials covering North Carolina History from the earliest days of the colony to the War Between the States.

The library no longer owns microfilm, but you may be able to locate the microfilm you are looking for through the State Library in Raleigh. 

The Local History Room is now located within the computer lab and is open during regular library hours. Archival materials are available to view by appointment. 

 

Cemetery Info

Electronic Resources Packet

Download our Electronic Resource Research Guide!

Genealogy and Local History Resources

Ancestry is the world's largest website for researching family histories. (Only available on-site at the library.)

North Carolina Family Research Page - Here you'll find record collections, history, and genealogy resources to help you trace your North Carolina ancestors.


HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources--rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.  Available in the library.  Accessibility outside the library requires a library card.


Historic NC Digital Newspapers hosts 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers from Newspapers.com.


The US Gen Web Project is a great resource for researching local history, this site has a variety of helpful links for finding the information you are looking for.


North Carolina Family Records Online is a project of the State Library and State Archives of North Carolina.

 


NC ECHO is a first step for users interested in exploring North Carolina's diverse collections of historic photos, documents, books, family histories, maps, and much more.


The NC Office of Archives and History is to collect, preserve, and utilize the state's historic resources so that present and future residents may better understand their history.


The Averasboro Battlefield Commission, Inc. (ABCI) is tasked with the responsibility to preserve and present the story of the Battle of Averasboro.


The Harnett County Register of Deeds is the place to search for local birth, death, marriage, and military records.

 


Historic Lillington is a PDF guide to the town of Lillington before 1950.

 


The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center supports community engagement and lifelong learning by promoting and increasing access to North Carolina’s cultural heritage.  NC Heritage has recently added the Talbott Stewart photo collection to its database.  This collection can be accessed by clicking here: Harnett County/Talbott Stewart collection.


Family Echo allows you to draw your printable family tree online. Free and easy to use, no login required. Add photos and share with your family. Import/export GEDCOM files..


Sanborn Maps , 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities. .

 


Historical Photo Gallery

 

Local Newspapers

Search archived newpaper articles by clicking the link above.  Included:

Newpapers   Obituaries Bookbag
Angier Independent, 1978 Cumberland County Harnett County Public Library Publication, 1982-2002
Bakersville-Burlington, 1858-1896 Harnett County
Daily Record 1954-1956 Mecklenburg County
Democratic Banner, 1901-1902 Richmond County
Harnett County News, 1919-2012
Harnett Leader, 1993-1994
Little River Record, 1916
State Voice, 1933-1935